ROTTREVORE was formed in November of 1989 by Mark Mastro (guitar/vocals) and Chris Weber (guitar/vocals). Mark had just ended his underground zine, "Infernal Bleeding" and Chris had just departed from his former band, "Chaotic Plague". The pair joined forces and began to fuse together their first few song arrangements. They drew their influences from many European/Scandinavian and American bands. The musical direction of the band was a deadly recipe of low-tuned brutal death metal, with a dark and doomy atmosphere and a slight grinding edge. The band's name was a concept of Mark and Chris, after wading through a sea of used and recycled words, they decided on something completely original and simply made up the word "Rottrevore".

The band, having two vocalists, covered the entire lower end of the vocal spectrum for a more interesting sound and feel. They strived to achieve the lowest, darkest sounding music with the sickest vocals possible. Lyrically, the band touched on subjects such as life, death, politics and social repression.

By January of 1990, Mark and Chris had 3 or 4 songs somewhat complete and the search was on for additional members. Chris Free, a local bassist who shared the same interests, was asked to join the band. Things melded great, but the short supply of drummers in the area was starting to put a strain on the threesome so Chris asked an old friend, Nick Esquivel if he would be interested in filling the position and finally, the line-up was complete. The chemistry was incredible and after a few months of rehearsing together, the band had 5 songs completed.

In June of 1990, the band entered the studio for the first time to record their demo entitled "The Epitome Of Pantalgia". The demo was well received by tape traders, zines and local radio shows. They were soon asked to release an EP for Relapse Records. This 7" vinyl release entitled "Copulation Of The Virtuous And Vicious" would be the band's second offering and feature three new tracks. In May of 1991, the band entered the studio for the third time to re-record the track "Disembodied" for a death metal compilation entitled "Pantalgia".

Several months later, in September of 1991, Nick Esquivel left the band and they found a replacement drummer by the name of Bob O'lexa.

A year after their last studio venture, the band entered the studio again in May of 1992 to record the EP "Fornication In Delirium" for the Dutch label Cenotaph Records and also a track entitled "Clogged Sewer Pipe" for the "Son Of Bllleeeeaaauuurrrrgghhh!" grindcore compilation.

Shortly after, the band once again, found themselves in need of a drummer due to the departure of Bob O'lexa. Because of the quick and unexpected line-up change, Bob is credited for both aforementioned sessions but Jason Graham (drums) was actually pictured on the back of the "Fornication In Delirium" EP. Jason went on to record with the band on what would be their first and final full-lenth album in 1993 entitled "Iniquitous".

Rottrevore disbanded in 1995.